Welcome to the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society (NM-TX), a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting philosophical thought and education. NM-TX holds annual meetings in late March or early April and is an inviting place for philosophers of all levels to present their ideas. In 2009, the Society held its first Student Colloquium which was a great success and continues to grow, a sign that indicates the strength and quality of NM-TX and the discipline of philosophy in general. Pursuant to the mission of NM-TX, the Society publishes a professional journal Southwest Philosophical Studies (SPS). SPS is a blind and peer reviewed journal which publishes ten to twelve of the best papers accepted into the annual conference.

Registration Payment -

68th Annual Meeting- The New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

March 24 - 26, 2017 • University of New Mexico


We invite papers on any philosophical topic in English or Spanish for our annual conference to be held in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The submission deadline is January 31, 2017. Papers ought not exceed 3,000 words (excluding footnotes and references) and presentable within 25 minutes. Each paper should be prepared for anonymous review and submitted electronically to secretary.nmtx@gmail.com. There will be commentaries on each paper, and authors of accepted papers will be invited to comment on other papers.

The New Mexico – Texas Philosophical Society has a longstanding tradition of publishing outstanding contributions in its journal, Southwest Philosophical Studies. Submissions will be automatically considered for publication, unless otherwise indicated in the submission process. Journal editorial practices require a strict maximum limit of 3,000 words and endnotes in MLA format.

Conference Hotel
The Hotel Parq Central, Albuquerque, NM. Room rates from 3/23 to 3/25 (Thursday to Saturday evenings): Single King $120/night; Double-Double Guest Room $130/night. Click here to download the rate sheet.

To reserve call (505)-242-0040 or email Noelle Wallace directly at nwallace@hotelparqcentral.com and request the rate for the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society meeting.


Registration and Fees
Conference registration fees are paid according to the schedule below. Presenters should arrange for payment to be forwarded to the Treasurer before March 17, 2017. Conference participants may pay the registration fee via a link to paypal.com, provided above. Check or cash only accepted at the conference. Payments made at conference will only be accepted from the hours of 9am-12noon, on either Friday March 24th or Saturday, March 25th.


Before 3/17/2017

After 3/17/2017 or at the Conference

Full-time professors



Part-time professors & adjuncts



Graduate students



Undergraduates/retired persons



Observers not on the program



Submissions may be eligible for the following awards. Those wishing to be considered for an award should indicate so in the submission process:

  1. Hubert Griggs Alexander Memorial Award for an excellent paper by a philosopher at any career level on aesthetics, philosophy of language, symbolic form, Hispanic philosophy, classical philosophy, or philosophy’s role in the humanities. Award recipient will receive a $100.00 prize and publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies;
  2. Houghton Dalrymple Memorial Award for an excellent paper by a graduate student or recent Ph.D. (within the last three years) on epistemology or Hume. Award recipient will receive a $100.00 prize and publication in Southwest Philosophical Studies.
  3. Glenn C. Joy Awards for the three best submissions by a philosopher at any career level on any topic. First prize is $750, second prize is $250, and third prize is $100.

If you have any comments or questions, contact Paul Wilson: secretary.nmwt@gmail.com.

Download PDF Announcement